Mary Kay Glam

A few weeks ago, I was delightfully surprised to be chosen to receive the Mary Kay Glam VoxBox from Influenster.  I joined Influenster a couple years ago and only recently started getting chosen to review products.  Influenster is online community where members are offered perks and exclusive access to products/services in exchange for their opinions that are shared on their personal social networks.  Members complete surveys regarding their lifestage and interests and then are chosen based on demographic and lottery system to receive a VoxBox which is filled with various products to review.

Being the makeup fiend that I am, I was very excited to get my MKGlam Vox Box.  I’ve never used Mary Kay products or been exposed to the brand at all so I didn’t know much about the makeup line. Inside the VoxBox was the following:

Mary Kay® Bronzing Powder
Mary Kay® Translucent Loose Powder
Mary Kay® Mineral Cheek Color
Mary Kay® Cream Eye Color in Apricot Twist
Mary Kay® Cream Eye Color/Concealer Brush
Mary Kay® Lash Love® Mascara
Mary Kay® Gel Eyeliner with Expandable Brush Applicator in Jet Black
Mary Kay® NouriShine Plus® Lip Gloss in Mango Tango

My favorite out of all of the items was the Mary Kay Translucent Loose Powder.  I’m not a big loose powder fan, mainly because I end up dropping it or shaking too much of the powder into the top compartment which leads to too much powder on my brush.  The MK loose powder comes with this convenient twist and lock component that locks the powder housing so that you can easily release only the desired amount.  This means- when it’s rolling around in my makeup bag while I’m driving I won’t have the entire amount of powder escape onto my passenger seat. Brilliant.  The powder was very light and just the right amount of coverage to set my CC cream for the rest of the day.

The Mary Kay® Gel Eyeliner with Expandable Brush Applicator in Jet Black was surprisingly easy to use.  I’ve used gel eyeliner pots for years and have been loyal to MAC’s fluidline, but was recently converted to a liquid liner just due to convenience.  The Mary Kay Gel Eyeliner was so creamy and smooth– not something I was expecting from a gel liner since most gels I’ve used are typically thicker in consistency.  I was skeptical at first, but once I used the brush applicator it glided onto my eyelid with ease and was surprisingly precise. However, as a mom with two kids I just don’t have as much time these days to be washing brushes on a daily basis.  Sometimes I find myself just throwing my makeup on (if I even attempt to wear makeup that day) in the car.  Although I may not use this eyeliner on a daily basis, I definitely would recommend it.  It stayed on all day and didn’t smudge or smear.

I have barely any eyelashes.  I envy my husband and kids (who thankfully got Daddy’s lashses) who have long, curly lashes.  That being said, mascara can work wonders for me if I want that extra look of glam.  The Lash Love mascara did not clump and was easily layered onto my lashes.  It’s not quick drying though so if you pile on too much at a time and blink you’ll find wisps of mascara above or below your eyelid.  I did like that the mascara did not run over the course of the day.

I don’t wear lip gloss often and I’ll admit that I was nervous about the color of the Mary Kay® NouriShine Plus® Lip Gloss.  Mango Tango is a bright orange-ish red.  I threw the color on and the gloss was thick, yet smooth.  Even after a few hours the color still was present and kept my lips fairly moisturized.  I grew to really like the color and it’s now a constant in my purse.

Overall, I was very pleased with the MK Glam box items.  I’ve now added the powder, mascara, and lip gloss to my daily routine.  Now if only MK had a pop up store in LA so I could try more products…

“I received these products complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes.”

 

Leave a Reply

