Blow Me Away

…and that it did; that being the “Windy City”.

A few weeks ago, I had the pleasure of finally setting foot in Chicago for a work trip.  It’s not often that I get sent to big cities, so I was overjoyed to be traveling to a metropolitan area versus some heartland fishing town. This was the first trip that I was completely on my own;  no real travel companions.  I loved every minute.  Ha! Not sure what that means on a deeper level, but traveling all by my lonesome was quite lovely.  Chicago was my oyster and I went diving for pearls!

What I loved about Chicago: Chicago Dogs (mmm… sweet relish, tomatoes, and onions on top of a grilled sausage? YES PLEASE!), an oversized, metallic coffee bean, and the Art Institute of Chicago— MIND BLOWING!

The photos won’t fully capture my awe, but here’s a little taste of the wind…
Art Institute of Chicago.  Best museum I’ve been to since Florence & Rome.  That sounds a bit dramatic, but it’s true. I have never had so many goosebumps while gazing at framed art since the day I snuck photos of the Sistine Chapel.  The Impressionism gallery was unbelievable.  I spent a total of four hours in this museum– at least two of those hours were in the impressionism hall.
Now here’s where my mind got blown.  Just a day before I went to the museum, I blogged about Paris and posted Gustave Claudeboitte’s Paris Street, Rainy Day.  There I was admiring the French Impressionism section and I turn a corner and see this:

I coerced a super nice guy to take at least 3 photos of me staring at this painting.  I could have stared at it for hours.  I’m weird like that, but I love my art…I love my French art.

Hopefully the winds blow me that way again soon.

Leave a Reply

