Muddy Me Up

I got an email a few months ago from my high school bestie, Katrina, with a wildly random request to join her in as a contestant in the Irvine Mud Run.  As to be expected, I agreed zestfully without fully knowing what a mud run entailed.  For those of you unaware, the Irvine Mud Run is a race just over a 5k that has mud pits and other obstacles dispersed throughout the course.  The proceeds from the registration fees go towards a charitable cause.
I’d been running for a few months so I wasn’t so concerned with the distance… it was more the whole getting dirt all over me that frightened me a bit.  You know how people can have a “thing” that they don’t like?  Some people don’t like mixing their food on the plate so they eat each item separately.  Some people like the toilet paper roll to hang like a waterfall, while others like it to come underneath (I’m the waterfall type).  Some people are socks first then pants… that’s their “thing”.  You get the idea.  Well, my “thing” is that I HATE wet socks.  It gives me the heebie jeebies.  When I was a kid and it would rain, because I’m short, my pants would drag on the ground and get wet from all the puddles which would inevitably get my socks wet.  I hate wet socks.  I hate the squishy feeling and sound it makes when you walk. I hate that my feet get so cold and I feel like my toes are sweating.  Ugh… yuck.  So forget the running, the hot sun, or the fact that you’re traipsing through dirt… dirt I don’t mind… it’s the wetness I feared.
Regardless, I was determined to have a good time.  If I was going to do this it was “Go Big or Go Home” and I sure as hell wasn’t going to go home.  So, Katrina and I, along with her younger sister and friends went off to run in the mud.  Katrina’s sister was an awesome team captain and organized the team which was proudly named “MILF & Cookies”.  The closest we got to a MILF was Katrina mothering her corgi, Pau–which was close enough for me.
The first step into the mud was precarious.  You just weren’t sure what to expect or how deep the pit would be.  After the next 3 or 4, I started to get used to it and it started to become fun.  Then after mile 1 there was the slip & slide and boy did I OWN that slip & slide.  I went full throttle, arms in the air, zipping my way down that hill with the most gleeful look on my face (photo evidence below).
I don’t know exactly how long it took us to get through the course, but that doesn’t matter.  We finished.  Mud and dirt in every crevice and a sexy sports bra tan to top it all off.  Would I do it again?  You better believe it!  Next year’s team name: The Human Caterpillar.  Hmm… sounds awkward and the photos will probably be disturbing.  I’m down so long as no one has their head up my butt.
Leave a Reply

